Page 1 of 3

Only Entry "V2 - 32Bit" after Upgrading

Posted: Mon Dec 10, 2018 5:42 am
by KurtTheBerner
Product, version and build: Powershell Studio 2019, 5.6.156
32 or 64 bit version of product: 64-Bit
Operating system: Windows 10, 10.0.17134
32 or 64 bit OS: 64-Bit

After upgrading from Version 5.6.155 to 5.6.156 the only Entry is "V2 - 32Bit" in the Combobox (Home Tab).
What could be the Reason?

Re: Only Entry "V2 - 32Bit" after Upgrading

Posted: Mon Dec 10, 2018 8:41 am
by davidc
It is possible that the caching process was still running. If not, try refreshing the cache in the ribbon (Home->Platform->Refresh Local Cache):
Refresh Cache.png
Refresh Cache.png (33.03 KiB) Viewed 4523 times
Please let us know if it still only shows V2 after refreshing the cache.

Re: Only Entry "V2 - 32Bit" after Upgrading

Posted: Mon Dec 10, 2018 11:05 pm
by KurtTheBerner
No success, still showing only "V2 - 32Bit"

Re: Only Entry "V2 - 32Bit" after Upgrading

Posted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 7:56 am
by davidc
It is possible that the caching process is failing. Please zip the contents of this folder:

C:\Users\David\AppData\Roaming\SAPIEN\CachedData 2.1\Local Machine

And upload it here:

https://www.sapien.com/support/upload

This way we can take a closer look as to what is happening.

Re: Only Entry "V2 - 32Bit" after Upgrading

Posted: Thu Dec 13, 2018 8:54 am
by davidc
I reviewed the uploaded files and it seems to be missing files that should be there even if the cache fails. Also, some files have the incorrect name, where they are missing a portion of the name.

Let's check the following:

1. Check the Windows Event logs under Applications. Do you see any errors related to CacheBuilder or CacheManager?
2. Let's check if you are missing files:

Please look at the following folders:

C:\Program Files\SAPIEN Technologies, Inc\PowerShell Studio 2019\CacheBuilder32
C:\Program Files\SAPIEN Technologies, Inc\PowerShell Studio 2019\CacheBuilder64

There should be 10 files in these folders.
Look for two versions of CacheBuilderXX.exe in each.

3. If you rebuild the cache, make sure you only have one instance of PowerShell Studio running.

Re: Only Entry "V2 - 32Bit" after Upgrading

Posted: Mon Dec 17, 2018 5:49 am
by KurtTheBerner
1. There are no Errors related to CacheManager or CacheBuilder in Eventlog
2. Files in C:\Program Files\SAPIEN Technologies, Inc\PowerShell Studio 2019\CacheBuilder32

Code: Select all

17.10.2018  20:28           277'896 CacheBuilder.exe
15.11.2013  18:47               242 CacheBuilder.exe.config
17.10.2018  20:28           277'896 CacheBuilderV2.exe
17.10.2018  20:30           329'608 CacheEdit.exe
14.10.2018  20:53            85'504 CacheProxyV2.dll
14.10.2018  20:53            85'504 CacheProxyV3.dll
14.10.2018  20:53            85'504 CacheProxyV5.dll
17.10.2018  22:47            42'496 ModuleImporterV2.dll
17.10.2018  22:47            55'808 ModuleImporterV3.dll
17.10.2018  22:47            55'296 ModuleImporterV5.dll
Files in C:\Program Files\SAPIEN Technologies, Inc\PowerShell Studio 2019\CacheBuilder64

Code: Select all

17.10.2018  20:28           293'256 CacheBuilder64.exe
15.11.2013  18:47               242 CacheBuilder64.exe.config
17.10.2018  20:28           293'256 CacheBuilder64V2.exe
17.10.2018  20:30           346'504 CacheEdit64.exe
14.10.2018  20:53           101'888 CacheProxyV2.dll
14.10.2018  20:53           101'888 CacheProxyV3.dll
14.10.2018  20:53           101'888 CacheProxyV5.dll
17.10.2018  22:47            41'984 ModuleImporterV2.dll
17.10.2018  22:47            54'784 ModuleImporterV3.dll
17.10.2018  22:47            54'784 ModuleImporterV5.dll
When Powershell Studio is running, there is one Instance of Process CacheManager64.exe running, with CacheBuilder64V2.exe as Subprocess.
Powershell Studio Tools Output shows:
>> Building Cache Information...
>> Please allow a few minutes for the caching to complete.
--> No Complete Message <--

Re: Only Entry "V2 - 32Bit" after Upgrading

Posted: Mon Dec 17, 2018 6:37 am
by Alexander Riedel
Can you please provide a list of modules you have installed on your machine?

Re: Only Entry "V2 - 32Bit" after Upgrading

Posted: Mon Dec 17, 2018 7:48 am
by KurtTheBerner
Sent as private Message.

Re: Only Entry "V2 - 32Bit" after Upgrading

Posted: Mon Dec 17, 2018 8:08 am
by Alexander Riedel
Ok, I would like you to run
Cachebuilder64 /V5 /LISTONLY
That *should* finish rather quickly

Then check in C:\Users\<your user>\AppData\Roaming\SAPIEN\CachedData 2.1\Local Machine
if you have these files:
PowerShell64V5.Modules.Cache
PowerShell64V5.Snapins.Cache

Let me know if that worked.

Re: Only Entry "V2 - 32Bit" after Upgrading

Posted: Mon Dec 17, 2018 11:25 pm
by KurtTheBerner
"Cachebuilder64 /V5 /LISTONLY" returns the following Error:

Constructing PowerShell Module list aborted.
PowerShell interface could not be instantiated

There is no File PowerShell64V5.Modules.Cache or PowerShell64V5.Snapins.Cache, here is the complete List:

Code: Select all

06.12.2018  10:02                 0 .Modules.Cache
06.12.2018  10:02                 0 .Snapins.Cache
18.12.2018  07:21               228 CacheBuilder64.inf
17.12.2018  13:30            18'110 ExternalCmds32.cache
17.12.2018  13:30            32'671 ExternalCmds64.cache
06.12.2018  10:46                 0 ImportV5_64bit.log
17.12.2018  13:30                 0 ModuleV2_64bit.log
17.12.2018  07:44             4'028 PowerShell32V2.Alias.Cache
17.12.2018  07:44         4'381'138 PowerShell32V2.Cmdlet.Cache
17.12.2018  07:44             2'043 PowerShell32V2.Modules.Cache
17.12.2018  07:44               327 PowerShell32V2.Snapins.Cache
17.12.2018  07:44         1'655'186 PowerShell32V2.Syntax.Cache
17.12.2018  07:44               750 PowerShell32V2.Types.Cache
17.12.2018  13:30             1'372 SnapinV2_64bit.log