intellisense issue

This forum can be browsed by the general public. Posting is limited to current SAPIEN license holders with active maintenance and does not offer a response time guarantee.
Forum rules
DO NOT POST LICENSE NUMBERS, ACTIVATION KEYS OR ANY OTHER LICENSING INFORMATION IN THIS FORUM.
Only the original author and our tech personnel can reply to a topic that is created in this forum. If you find a topic that relates to an issue you are having, please create a new topic and reference the other in your post.

Any code longer than three lines should be added as code using the 'Select Code' dropdown menu or attached as a file.
This topic is 3 years and 10 months old and has exceeded the time allowed for comments. Please begin a new topic or use the search feature to find a similar but newer topic.
User avatar
Domtar
Posts: 133
Last visit: Mon Mar 11, 2024 5:38 am
Has voted: 2 times

intellisense issue

Post by Domtar »

Product: PowerShell Studio 2020 (64 Bit)
Build: v5.7.177
OS: Windows 10 Enterprise (64 Bit)
Build: v10.0.18363.0

since the last update, every day when i use PS Studio the first time, IntelliSense takes forever to load. Like 5-7 seconds each time, which is forever compared to before where that behavior never happened.

is this a bug?

thanks!

edit: i forgot to add that the first time I use tab completion is worst. it takes more than 1 minute to display the command.

please help!
User avatar
brittneyr
Site Admin
Posts: 1655
Last visit: Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:14 pm
Answers: 39
Been upvoted: 30 times

Re: intellisense issue

Post by brittneyr »

What are you opening (ps1, psf, projects)? If it is a project, how many files are included in that project?
Brittney
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.
User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 8479
Last visit: Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:29 am
Answers: 20
Been upvoted: 37 times

Re: intellisense issue

Post by Alexander Riedel »

[Topic moved by moderator]

Please help us to help you by posting in the correct forum.
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.
User avatar
Domtar
Posts: 133
Last visit: Mon Mar 11, 2024 5:38 am
Has voted: 2 times

Re: intellisense issue

Post by Domtar »

i did post in the correct forum.

in the console window, i run this and it takes 2.6 sec.

this was a lot faster before that last update to 5.7.177;

PS C:\Scripts\tests> Measure-Command {
>> if (-not [system.IO.Directory]::Exists('c:\Temp\test'))
>> { New-Item -Path c:\Temp -Name crap -ItemType directory -Force }
>> }
>>


Days : 0
Hours : 0
Minutes : 0
Seconds : 2
Milliseconds : 6
Ticks : 20067269
TotalDays : 2.3226005787037E-05
TotalHours : 0.000557424138888889
TotalMinutes : 0.0334454483333333
TotalSeconds : 2.0067269
TotalMilliseconds : 2006.7269

and same code on a test VM computer;

PS C:\Users\xxxxx> measure-command { if (-not [string]::IsNullOrEmpty('c:\temp\test')) {new-item -path c:\temp -name test -ItemType directory -force } }


Days : 0
Hours : 0
Minutes : 0
Seconds : 0
Milliseconds : 132
Ticks : 1323535
TotalDays : 1.53186921296296E-06
TotalHours : 3.67648611111111E-05
TotalMinutes : 0.00220589166666667
TotalSeconds : 0.1323535
TotalMilliseconds : 132.3535
User avatar
brittneyr
Site Admin
Posts: 1655
Last visit: Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:14 pm
Answers: 39
Been upvoted: 30 times

Re: intellisense issue

Post by brittneyr »

What are you opening (ps1, psf, projects)? If it is a project, how many files are included in that project?
Also, please try build 5.7.178 and let me know now if you are still having issues.
Brittney
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.
This topic is 3 years and 10 months old and has exceeded the time allowed for comments. Please begin a new topic or use the search feature to find a similar but newer topic.