text box is wrapping and does not acknowledge new lines

This forum can be browsed by the general public. Posting is limited to current SAPIEN license holders with active maintenance and does not offer a response time guarantee.
Forum rules
DO NOT POST LICENSE NUMBERS, ACTIVATION KEYS OR ANY OTHER LICENSING INFORMATION IN THIS FORUM.
Only the original author and our tech personnel can reply to a topic that is created in this forum. If you find a topic that relates to an issue you are having, please create a new topic and reference the other in your post.

Any code longer than three lines should be added as code using the 'Select Code' dropdown menu or attached as a file.
User avatar
jsira2003@yahoo.com
Posts: 117
Last visit: Fri Jun 11, 2021 9:05 am

text box is wrapping and does not acknowledge new lines

Post by jsira2003@yahoo.com »

Before the last round of upgrades I had no issues with text in text boxes wrapping lines correctly and acknowledging line breaks. Now line breaks are no longer acknowledged and all my text runs together as illustrated below. It appears that something has changed here. My code hasn't changed. Any assistance would be appreciated.



thank you,
John
Attachments
runtogether.PNG
runtogether.PNG (57.65 KiB) Viewed 1398 times

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 7719
Last visit: Sat Jul 31, 2021 12:28 pm
Answers: 4
Been upvoted: 10 times

Re: text box is wrapping and does not acknowledge new lines

Post by Alexander Riedel »

We have seen this too. It is not a change on our side. We are investigating what actually happened but it seems a recent update to the .NET framework or Windows itself is causing this.
To confirm that, add a MessageBox showing your text just before you set the text in your edit control. If that is displayed normal, the cause is the textbox control, which is part of the .NET framework.
We are recommending using a RichTextbox if at all possible to work around this issue.
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
brittneyr
Site Admin
Posts: 818
Last visit: Fri Jul 30, 2021 12:06 pm
Answers: 16
Been upvoted: 13 times

Re: text box is wrapping and does not acknowledge new lines

Post by brittneyr »

What version of PowerShell Studio are you using? Can you please run the following tool and paste the results here:
https://sapien.s3.amazonaws.com/downloa ... nCheck.zip
Brittney Ryn
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
jsira2003@yahoo.com
Posts: 117
Last visit: Fri Jun 11, 2021 9:05 am

Re: text box is wrapping and does not acknowledge new lines

Post by jsira2003@yahoo.com »

Operating System: Windows 10 Pro1809
OS build: 17763.973
32 or 64 bit OS: 64 bit
Screen Resolutions: DISPLAY1: 1600 x 900 with scale factor 100%
PowerShell Core: 6.1.0-preview.2, 7.0.1
PowerShell Core (x86): No PowerShell Core (x86) version detected
.NET Core Framework: 3.1.3
.NET Core Framework (x86): No .NET Core Framework(x86) version detected
.NET Core Desktop: 3.1.3
.NET Core Desktop (x86): No .NET Core Desktop version detected
PowerShell cache built: PowerShell 2 32 Bit cache, PowerShell 5 32 Bit cache, PowerShell 2 64 Bit cache, PowerShell 5 64 Bit cache, PowerShell 7 64 Bit cache

User avatar
jsira2003@yahoo.com
Posts: 117
Last visit: Fri Jun 11, 2021 9:05 am

Re: text box is wrapping and does not acknowledge new lines

Post by jsira2003@yahoo.com »

I am using the latest powershell studio with all updates applied.

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 7719
Last visit: Sat Jul 31, 2021 12:28 pm
Answers: 4
Been upvoted: 10 times

Re: text box is wrapping and does not acknowledge new lines

Post by Alexander Riedel »

Can you please verify if this only happens in packaged executables or also when just running a script?
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
jsira2003@yahoo.com
Posts: 117
Last visit: Fri Jun 11, 2021 9:05 am

Re: text box is wrapping and does not acknowledge new lines

Post by jsira2003@yahoo.com »

It also happens if you hit run in powershell studio as well.

John

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 7719
Last visit: Sat Jul 31, 2021 12:28 pm
Answers: 4
Been upvoted: 10 times

Re: text box is wrapping and does not acknowledge new lines

Post by Alexander Riedel »

Oh. Well, that is a little different then. Would you be able upload that file (zipped) here: https://www.sapien.com/support/upload ?
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
jsira2003@yahoo.com
Posts: 117
Last visit: Fri Jun 11, 2021 9:05 am

Re: text box is wrapping and does not acknowledge new lines

Post by jsira2003@yahoo.com »

I will conclude this case in the following matter. The old executable package looks fine as expected. The new executable package is affected. I wouldn't rule out your code too fast. I just decided to use the richtextbox and call it a day. I don't have much time to delve into this further.

thank you,
John