wrapping my head around dynamic forms

This forum can be browsed by the general public. Posting is limited to current SAPIEN license holders with active maintenance and does not offer a response time guarantee.
Forum rules
DO NOT POST LICENSE NUMBERS, ACTIVATION KEYS OR ANY OTHER LICENSING INFORMATION IN THIS FORUM.
Only the original author and our tech personnel can reply to a topic that is created in this forum. If you find a topic that relates to an issue you are having, please create a new topic and reference the other in your post.

Any code longer than three lines should be added as code using the 'Select Code' dropdown menu or attached as a file.
User avatar
brian.graf@outlook.com
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 8:33 am

wrapping my head around dynamic forms

Post by brian.graf@outlook.com »

I've got a form that has a flowlayoutpanel and essentially three columns:
LABEL | PROGRESSBAROVERLAY | LABEL (flowbreak)
The items on this form are generated based off of the number of Log files that are found containing a specific phrase, for example:
log file reads: "New Event: ____" for each of these log files the code creates the first label based on the name ______, a progressbaroverlay is added and a label that will contain either the job number or the process_ID.

Code: Select all

	$progressbaroverlay = New-Object 'SAPIENTypes.ProgressBarOverlay'
		$progressbaroverlay.Name = "PBO$i"
		$progressbaroverlay.Size = '253,23'
		$progressbaroverlay.TextOverlay = "10%"
		$progressbaroverlay.value = "10"
		$flowlayoutpanel1.Controls.Add($progressbaroverlay)
$i is an integer that increases foreach of the objects.
my problem is that when I want to go back and change the value or textoverlay I get an error:
ERROR: Property 'value' cannot be found on this object; make sure it exists and is settable.
line (1): ERROR: At Line: 1 char: 1
ERROR: + $PBO3.value = 20
Just to test out how it works, I'm trying to increase the value of each of these on a timer_tick with the following code:

Code: Select all

	1..$Global:i | ForEach-Object {
		iex "`$PBO$_.value = 20"
	}
any idea how/why this won't work?

User avatar
SAPIEN Support Forums
Posts: 945
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 2:26 pm

wrapping my head around dynamic forms

Post by SAPIEN Support Forums »

This is an automated post. A real person will respond soon.

Thank you for posting, grafb@vmware.com.

Did you remember to include the following?
  • 1. Product, version and build (e.g. Product: PowerShell Studio 2014, Version & Build: 4.1.71. Version and build information can be found in the product's About box accessed by clicking the blue icon with the 'i' in the upper right hand corner of the ribbon.)
    2. Specify if you are running a 32 or 64 bit version
    3. Specify your operating system and if it is 32 or 64 bit.
    4. Attach a screenshot if your issue can be seen on the screen
    5. Attach a zip file if you have multiple files (crash reports, log entries, etc.) related to your issue.
If not, please take a moment to edit your original post or reply to this one.

*** Make sure you do not post any licensing information ***

User avatar
davidc
Posts: 5913
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:56 am

Re: wrapping my head around dynamic forms

Post by davidc »

You are creating the control dynamically correct?

Looks like you are saving the progress bar to variable $progressbaroverlay and setting the name to "PBO$i". When you set the control's name it doesn't automatically create a variable named $PB01. That only happens in the designer.

When creating dynamic controls like this you might want to store the variables in an array or list.

David
David
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.