Not recognizing cmdlets from newly imported module

This forum can be browsed by the general public. Posting is limited to current SAPIEN license holders with active maintenance and does not offer a response time guarantee.
Forum rules
DO NOT POST SUBSCRIPTION NUMBERS, LICENSE KEYS OR ANY OTHER LICENSING INFORMATION IN THIS FORUM.
Only the original author and our tech personnel can reply to a topic that is created in this forum. If you find a topic that relates to an issue you are having, please create a new topic and reference the other in your post.

Any code longer than three lines should be added as code using the 'Select Code' dropdown menu or attached as a file.
User avatar
StupidSexyFlanders
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:22 am

Not recognizing cmdlets from newly imported module

Post by StupidSexyFlanders » Fri Feb 20, 2015 5:28 pm

Imported the MSOL modules without error and they work just find in PSS. However they are is still being flagged as 'unknown'. How can I get PSS to recognize these new cmdlets?
Mike

User avatar
SAPIEN Support Forums
Posts: 945
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 2:26 pm

Not recognizing cmdlets from newly imported module

Post by SAPIEN Support Forums » Fri Feb 20, 2015 5:28 pm

This is an automated post. A real person will respond soon.

Thank you for posting, StupidSexyFlanders.

Did you remember to include the following?
  • 1. Product, version and build (e.g. Product: PowerShell Studio 2014, Version & Build: 4.1.71. Version and build information can be found in the product's About box accessed by clicking the blue icon with the 'i' in the upper right hand corner of the ribbon.)
    2. Specify if you are running a 32 or 64 bit version
    3. Specify your operating system and if it is 32 or 64 bit.
    4. Attach a screenshot if your issue can be seen on the screen
    5. Attach a zip file if you have multiple files (crash reports, log entries, etc.) related to your issue.
If not, please take a moment to edit your original post or reply to this one.

*** Make sure you do not post any licensing information ***

User avatar
davidc
Posts: 5913
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:56 am

Re: Not recognizing cmdlets from newly imported module

Post by davidc » Fri Feb 20, 2015 5:56 pm

If you installed this module after installing PowerShell Studio, you will need to rebuild the cache.
Rebuild Cache.png
Rebuild Cache.png (14.18 KiB) Viewed 1477 times
The module must be in a discover-able location. For example:

C:\Users\<username>\Documents\WindowsPowerShell\Modules

PowerShell must be able to find it automatically.

David
David
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
davidc
Posts: 5913
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:56 am

Re: Not recognizing cmdlets from newly imported module

Post by davidc » Fri Feb 20, 2015 5:57 pm

Also make sure you have the correct platform selected. Some modules are 64 bit only or support a specific version of PowerShell.
Platform Selection.png
Platform Selection.png (14.13 KiB) Viewed 1477 times
David
David
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
StupidSexyFlanders
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:22 am

Re: Not recognizing cmdlets from newly imported module

Post by StupidSexyFlanders » Wed Feb 25, 2015 9:29 am

Thanks David. Are those steps required just to get the UI to recognize the new cmdlet names? I ask because the new cmdlet functionality is 100% working through PSS. I just installed version 4.2.81 yesterday but they are still not being recognized.

I am rebuilding the cache now, so that will take a while. Then I will tinker with the platform settings. The default is x64 and I am pretty sure these MS cmdlets are as well. I'll let you know how it goes.

Update: Well, in the time it took me to write this post the cache rebuild completed. Now everything is copacetic again. :)
Mike