Page 1 of 1

Version 4.5.66 unable to execute queries

Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2018 11:14 am
by DiZzyDmon
Product, version and build: PrimalSQL 2019 4.5.66_112818
32 or 64 bit version of product: 64-bit
Operating system: Windows 10 version 1803 (OS build 17134.471)
32 or 64 bit OS: 64-bit

Please refer to my previous, never solved, now "Locked", topic "Version 4.4.65 unable to execute queries".

This same problem exists in PrimalSQL 2019.

I am unable to run any new or saved SQL text queries against any database in our Microsoft SQL Server cluster. The "Execute Query" button is always greyed out, unavailable.

Re: Version 4.5.66 unable to execute queries

Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2018 12:50 pm
by brittneyr
I'm sorry for the inconvenience this has caused. I have read your previous posts regarding this issue and we still have not been able to recreate the issue on our end.
Does the ribbon show the file's connection in Home/Document Connection as grayed out when you are trying to execute your files?
primalsql-ribbon.png
primalsql-ribbon.png (23.47 KiB) Viewed 2064 times

Re: Version 4.5.66 unable to execute queries

Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2018 5:58 pm
by DiZzyDmon
Today I went to the trouble of building out a whole new virtual computer, just to see if this problem is due to the PrimalSQL software being upgraded a few times on my existing computers (one physical, one virtual, both have the problem).

It didn't make any difference. I am still unable to run queries.

When I first open the program, the ribbon looks normal (Before.png). As soon as I either open a saved query or right-click a connection and select either "Query with Visual Query Builder" or "Query using SQL Text Only", almost everything in the ribbon greys out (After.png).

Re: Version 4.5.66 unable to execute queries

Posted: Thu Dec 27, 2018 9:10 am
by Alexander Riedel
Just jumping in here to let you know we are investigating the issue. The office is closed until January 2nd, so it may take a few days to sort this out, but I thought I'll let you know we don't ignore you :D

Re: Version 4.5.66 unable to execute queries

Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 8:37 am
by davidc
Try opening the start page so that a second document tab is open. Do the buttons enable then?

Re: Version 4.5.66 unable to execute queries

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 7:06 am
by DiZzyDmon
If I first open the start page (View > Start page), all queries (saved and ad hoc) work.
However did you figure that out?

Re: Version 4.5.66 unable to execute queries

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 7:41 am
by davidc
It was a known issue that has been resolved in the upcoming service release. It was caused by undocumented changes in the UI library.

Re: Version 4.5.66 unable to execute queries

Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2019 6:31 pm
by DiZzyDmon
I upgraded to 4.5.67 just now, the problem is fixed.
Thanks!

Re: Version 4.5.66 unable to execute queries

Posted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 8:33 am
by davidc
I'm glad to hear it. Thank you for the update.