dsadd/dsmod help

Batch, ASP, JScript, Kixtart, etc.
Forum rules
Do not post any licensing information in this forum.

Any code longer than three lines should be added as code using the 'Select Code' dropdown menu or attached as a file.
This topic is 16 years and 8 months old and has exceeded the time allowed for comments. Please begin a new topic or use the search feature to find a similar but newer topic.
segfault

dsadd/dsmod help

Post by segfault »

Hello, I'm very new to command line scripting and I need some major help with some Active Directories stuff. Basically our app has users who can be assigned one or more roles, and two of those roles allow access to different reports (i.e. when a user is assigned one of those roles he/she needs to be put in a specific OU). Also when the user has the role removed, they must be removed from the OU. I have created a dsadd script that will add a user for one of the roles, and a dsmod script that will add the user to another group, but I'm having trouble coming up with a way to verify that the user is already in a group and run one line or the other based on that. So basically the algorithm should be:if user exists //<-- the part i need help on dsmod group CN -addmbr uname ...else dsadd user CN ...To remove users/members will just be the reverse of this, so it's really just the conditional part that I can't figure out. If anyone can help me with this or can point me to a good .bat scripting tutorial that will help it would be much appreciated. Thanks!
jhicks

dsadd/dsmod help

Post by jhicks »