PowerShell Studio Help

Ask questions about creating Graphical User Interfaces (GUI) in PowerShell and using WinForms controls.
Forum rules
Do not post any licensing information in this forum.

Any code longer than three lines should be added as code using the 'Select Code' dropdown menu or attached as a file.
This topic is 9 years and 6 months old and has exceeded the time allowed for comments. Please begin a new topic or use the search feature to find a similar but newer topic.
mqh77777
Has voted: 1 time

PowerShell Studio Help

Post by mqh77777 »

I know how to script but I'm brand new to this tool. I created a blank form, I added 1 button to this form. When I press the button it runs this code: write-host "this is a test"

On my 1 button on the right hand side I have all of the properties. I do not see any property that stores the result of pressing the button. Example: If I press my button I want to capture "this is a test" in a variable so I can use it later.

how do you do that?
jvierra
Answers: 30
Has voted: 4 times
Been upvoted: 33 times

Re: PowerShell Studio Help

Post by jvierra »

Well the issue here is that you must know PowerShell before using forms. In PowerShell it is not possible to save the output of Write-Host to variable.

I recommend reviewing how variables are used in PowerShell as you will be making extensive use of variables in Forms.

You will also want to read all of the documentation on using PowerShell Studio with forms. Run the sample code an look closely at how it is done. There are also a number of blog articles on forms and controls that are very useful to learning PowerShell and using PowerShell with forms.

Have fun "forming".
mqh77777

Post by mqh77777 »

OK, fair enough. But what if it were not Write-Host? In this tool if you click on a button can you capture what that button click does into a variable?

Thanks.
jvierra

Post by jvierra »