No Snapins under Snapin browser - no Exchange module

Use this forum to ask questions before you buy. Need information on licensing or pricing? Questions about a trial version? This is the right place for you. No scripting questions, please.
Forum rules
DO NOT POST SUBSCRIPTION NUMBERS, LICENSE KEYS OR ANY OTHER LICENSING INFORMATION IN THIS FORUM.
Only the original author and our tech personnel can reply to a topic that is created in this forum. If you find a topic that relates to an issue you are having, please create a new topic and reference the other in your post.
User avatar
danbro
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 3:15 am

No Snapins under Snapin browser - no Exchange module

Post by danbro » Thu Nov 29, 2018 5:32 am

To help you better we need some information from you.

*** Please fill in the fields below if you are currently using a Trial Version of the Product. If you leave fields empty or specify 'latest' rather than the actual version your answer will be delayed as we will be forced to ask you for this information. ***

Product, version and build: Powershell Studio 2018 - 5.5.155
32 or 64 bit version of product: 64
Operating system: Win 10 Pro 1803
32 or 64 bit OS: 64

*** Please add details and screenshots as needed below. ***

Hi,

This might be as simple as not having something on my pc already but ...

under the snappin browser i have no entries. im trying to write some stuff for exchange but when intellisense didnt recognise it i googled and found some articles here to rebuild the cache, download latest version etc however i still dont get anything. Are these installed as part of the PS Studio install or do they need to be downloaded seperately?

Thanks

User avatar
davidc
Posts: 5913
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:56 am

Re: No Snapins under Snapin browser - no Exchange module

Post by davidc » Thu Nov 29, 2018 9:06 am

When you first run PowerShell Studio it will begin to cache all available modules and snapins for each version / platform of PowerShell. This process can take a few minutes to complete. While the caching process is running, you will have an empty list of modules and snapins.

1. Verify that the snapin is installed.
2. Verify that the caching process has completed. You can check this be simply looking at the object browser panel and see if it lists the modules installed on your machine:
Object Browser - Cached Modules.png
Object Browser - Cached Modules.png (17.64 KiB) Viewed 11657 times
3. Check that you have the correct platform selected in Ribbon->Home->Platform:
Platform Settings.png
Platform Settings.png (12.98 KiB) Viewed 11657 times
I believe the Exchange snapin is 64-bit only.
David
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
mxtrinidad
Site Admin
Posts: 314
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 12:42 pm

Re: No Snapins under Snapin browser - no Exchange module

Post by mxtrinidad » Thu Nov 29, 2018 11:04 am

Just an FYI

If you're using PowerShell Studio where Exchange is installed, remember to add the PSSnapin first as is NOT automatically loaded when you open a PowerShell session.

Now, if you want to remotely work on Exchange module, still need to include in the Profile to load the Snapin.
Check out the following SAPIEN Blog posts:
PowerShell Studio: Working with Remote Systems (Part 1 & 2)
https://www.sapien.com/blog/2018/09/20/powershell-studio-working-with-remote-systems-part-1/
https://www.sapien.com/blog/2018/09/24/powershell-studio-working-with-remote-systems-part-2/

These post gives you the general steps on How-To, and can be applied to loading any type of Snapins.

At the end, you should be able to see and work with the Snapin(s) after the Cache is refreshed.

:)

User avatar
danbro
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 3:15 am

Re: No Snapins under Snapin browser - no Exchange module

Post by danbro » Fri Nov 30, 2018 9:09 am

Hi,

Thanks for the reply.

When running the cache export on our Exchange server, no cache files are present, even after using the Rebuild All Cache Files button. Can you assist further for that the cause may be and how to resolve? Or how to get the Exchange powershell cmdlets locally?

Thanks

User avatar
mxtrinidad
Site Admin
Posts: 314
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 12:42 pm

Re: No Snapins under Snapin browser - no Exchange module

Post by mxtrinidad » Sat Dec 01, 2018 6:45 am

First, snapins are not loaded automatically. This is why the cache export won't work. In order for the cache export to work, you need to create a PowerShell Profile.PS1 file with cmdlet Add-PSSnapin with the name of the Exchange snappin on the Exchange system first. This is all explained in the posted linked articles, and will tell you what's needed to:
1. Create the profile.ps1 file with the snapin.
2. How to export the cache from the remote server to your client machine for PowerShell Studio.

Now, because the Exchange exchange team didn't create a Module for their application, there's no way to install the snapin on a client machine unless the application is installed on it. Remember, Snapins are not Modules!

This is why Exchange and Sharepoint have their installed specialized PowerShell application console to which loads their snapins automatically. If you use the normal Windows PowerShell or ISE console, on the Application server, then you need to use the cmdlet to load them manually.

:)