Hardcoded Paths

Post feature requests, product enhancement ideas, and other product-specific suggestions here. Do not post bug reports.
Forum rules
Do not post any licensing information in this forum.
Locked
User avatar
ferghus
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 12:04 pm

Hardcoded Paths

Post by ferghus » Tue Nov 28, 2006 12:44 pm

Again, I can't post this to the tech support forum:

You've provided many paths in the Options dialog box, but there are still many hardcoded paths in PS. For example, the My DocumentsDatasources and My DocumentsSAPIEN with various subfolders are still hardcoded. I need to be able to point these folders to a different location. I do not want them in the My Documents folder.

A related issue is that I have folder redirection on my network. The My Documents folder is redirected to the network home folder. The Files/Folders Nexus doesn't handle redirected folders very well. It can't remember the last path, for example.

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 6836
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 4:43 pm

Hardcoded Paths

Post by Alexander Riedel » Tue Nov 28, 2006 1:14 pm

It doesn't remember remote folders on purpose.
If on startup the connection is not available Windows tends to freeze applications for 20 seconds, waiting for the network timeout.

Any particular reason why you don't like the My Documents folder?
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
ferghus
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 12:04 pm

Hardcoded Paths

Post by ferghus » Tue Nov 28, 2006 2:54 pm

Because My Documents is redirected to the network. I keep all my scripting stuff on my desktop so that it doesn't follow me around on the network. I can move a handful of folders via the Options dialog box, but there are still many hardcoded file paths.

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 6836
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 4:43 pm

Hardcoded Paths

Post by Alexander Riedel » Tue Nov 28, 2006 5:09 pm

I have made a note in our wish list database.

Alex
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

Locked