Need help displaying GUI progress

Ask questions about creating Graphical User Interfaces (GUI) in PowerShell and using WinForms controls.
Forum rules
Do not post any licensing information in this forum.

Any code longer than three lines should be added as code using the 'Select Code' dropdown menu or attached as a file.
Locked
User avatar
smurphy0822
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 12:44 pm

Need help displaying GUI progress

Post by smurphy0822 » Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 am

Need help displaying GUI progress

I have created a script that remotely connects to AD, Exchange and Lync. You are then able to copy a user template, create a new account, create an exchange mailbox and create a new Lync sip account all in one step.

The problem is that when help desk staff launch the GUI it takes a while to load, due to connecting to AD, Exchange and Lync in the background. Because of this, staff seem to be exiting out of the GUI before it completely loads. They think the GUI is frozen or not working.

Is there a way to create a second window that loads first and show the GUI progress, while the GUI is loading in the background?

User avatar
SAPIEN Support Forums
Posts: 945
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 2:26 pm

Need help displaying GUI progress

Post by SAPIEN Support Forums » Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 am

This is an automated post. A real person will respond soon.

Thank you for posting, smurphy0822.

Here are some hints to help you get an accurate and complete answer to your question.

Ask in the best forum: If you asked in the wrong forum, just copy your question to the right forum.

Anticipate follow-up questions!

Did you remember to include the following?
  • 1. Product, version and build
    2. 32 or 64 bit product
    3. Operating system, e.g. Windows 7 64 bit.
    4. Attach a screenshot, if applicable
    5. Attach logs, crash reports, etc., in a ZIP file
If not, please take a moment to edit your original post or reply to this one.

*** Make sure you do not post any licensing information ***

jvierra
Posts: 13992
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 9:57 am
Contact:

Re: Need help displaying GUI progress

Post by jvierra » Tue Sep 22, 2015 11:06 am

Do not place connection code in the load event. Place it in the Form_Activated event. This way the form will be displayed before starting the connections and you can output a message saying "please wait"

Locked